Week of training, 5/17-5/23.

Man, I have not been keeping this thing updated very well. At least not on the food stuff. Finals week, etc.

Anyway, week of training:

Monday: Rest after the ’12-mile-run-that-took-2:20-because-it-was-bay-to-breakers’ Sunday run.
Tuesday: 6 mile hill run (oh my god SF hills), ~9 minute pace.
Wednesday: Biked, ~12 miles.
Thursday: 8 mile run (with Brandon, wtf).
Friday: Rest
Saturday: 8.17 mi in 59 minutes, ~7:15 pace. This run was too fast–first two miles were at 6:40 pace. I’m still learning to pace well, I guess.
Sunday: 14.5 miles in 128 minutes, ~8:50 pace.

Running mileage for the week: 37 miles.

So, Sunday’s run. First long run over 13 miles, first since the half. It was a really, really hard run. My feet and legs were tired from Saturday (way more tired than I realized), I tried to do it in 8:30 pace (which I probably had for the first half, which gives an idea of how slow the second half was), when I should have been aiming for 9 all along. 9 minutes is 90 seconds slower than my marathon pace, which is the pace I need to be doing, now, during my long runs. So, NINE MINUTE MILES. K, thx.

Also, I didn’t carbo-load Saturday night. Big mistake. I need to get into the habit of carbo-loading every Friday and Saturday, without exception. It was weird, on the run–I was hardcore hungry, eating a couple gu chomps before I was even supposed to. This, compared to the half a few weeks back, where I ate I think 2 chomps total, over the whole run, and felt like it was too much. I was just drained on this run.

This coming week has a 17 miler on Sunday (thankfully no pace run before it though), so I’ll do things a little bit better, and definitely report in on the difference it makes.

Leave a Reply

